Almost Paradise

A beautiful morning it is today
And what a beautiful morning!
Some birds entering the balcony
Of my bedroom and chirping merrily
Next to my bed to awaken me!

Never in the past 45 years that I have been living where I currently am, have they ever ventured inside the balcony, but today everything seems so different. A lazy yawn and then a look outside the balcony keeps my jaw wide open!

A sunrise as beautiful as I have ever seen
The sea waves rustling quietly
Make the surroundings so peaceful
My heart is full of joy
Dark clouds in the distance
Look like sentinels
Proclaiming the arrival of the monsoon
A season every Indian longs for
Someone in the neighbourhood is singing
To the glory of the lord
My mind is at peace
I just shut my eyes and say grace
Is paradise seeking me?

2 thoughts on “Almost Paradise

  1. I’m sure paradise is seeking you!
    I have birds on my balcony all the time, so fascinating! Sometimes when the bird food is over, though rarely, they venture inside my living/dining area and hop and chirp like they are complaining!

    Like

Leave a Reply

